Conference Speakers

Terra Science and Education is an official NYSED provider of CTLE credits for educators.


Dr. Lynnette Mawhinney
IMG_9739Dr. Lynnette Mawhinney is Associate Professor and Chair of the Department of Curriculum and Instruction at the University of Illinois at Chicago. For over the last decade, she conducted teacher training in the U.S., Vietnam, Taiwan, Thailand, South Africa, and Egypt. In 2013, Dr. Mawhinney was awarded the prestigious Fulbright Core Scholar award and spent one academic year teaching at Bahrain Teachers College in the Kingdom of Bahrain.
Dr. Mawhinney’s research focuses on the professional lives of urban teachers and pre-service teachers (with a specific focus on Teachers of Color) and the schooling experiences of urban youth. She has published extensively in both U.S. and internationally focused peer-reviewed journals. She is the author of four books. Her co-edited book, Teacher Education Across Minority-Serving Institutions: Programs, Policies, and Social Justice won the 2018American Educational Research Association & Division K Award for Exemplary Research in Teaching and Teacher Education. Dr. Mawhinney’s most recent book is There Has to be a Better Way: Lessons from Former Urban Teachers, which was released this year.


Cathy Santos

Cathy Santos attended SUNY Oswego in the first EOP class in 1970 where she earned both her undergraduate and Master’s degree.  Employed at SUNY Oswego for 30 years, she served as an EOP counselor, Assistant Dean for Judicial Affairs, Assistant Provost for Multicultural Opportunities and Programs, EOP director and director for the Office of Learning Services tutoring program.  Cathy was also involved in the Oswego community where she volunteered services on the Oswego Board of Directors Youth and Women’s Softball Associations.  In 2010 she was elected to the City of Oswego Common Council as an alderwoman for the third ward.  Currently, she is the President of the Board of Trustees for the Oswego Public Library.

Click to find out more about this year’s proceedings, schedule, and Teacher of the Year award.


In Partnership with:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.